I am a Farmer, Video by Sheila Arasato

In her thought-provoking and visually stunning video, Ke Ala ʻIke Scholar Sheila Arasato updates and re-edits “I am a Farmer,” a slam poem written and performed by her sister, U’ilani Arasato.  Why did she revisit her sisterʻs poem?  “There was more story to tell. Who you are in this ʻāina,” Sheila asks, “and what are you doing to make it a better place?”

Pūpū A ʻO ʻEwa Native Hawaiian Writing and Arts is proud to present I am a Farmer, Sheila Arasatoʻs Ka ʻUmeke Kāʻeo Achievement Award-winning video based on the poem by Uʻilani Arasato.

Meet the artist: Sheila Arasato and view the original slam poem by Uʻilani Arasato


I am a Farmer

Credits: photos courtesy of Sheila Arasato

One thought on “I am a Farmer, Video by Sheila Arasato

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *