Ka ʻUmeke Kāʻeo Award Winners for 2015

Announcing the 2015 Ka ʻUmeke Kāʻeo a Award Winners!

Hoʻomaikaʻi ana! Congratulations to these talented writers and artists from our very own Leeward Community College! These writing and art works will be published when we return in the Fall 2015:

Writing in ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi

  • Hiʻilei Manoi-Hyde, No Naʻawao ($100 cash prize)
  • Van-Jon Matthew Kaleialohanoelani Paio, ʻO ʻOe Kuʻu Māmā ($100 cash prize)

Writing in ʻōlelo haole:

  • Laʻakea Ai, Laʻakea (poetry) ($100 cash prize)
  • Tracy Dixon, Kahoʻolawe 88 (poetry) ($100 cash prize)
  • Alyssa Purcell, He Hawaiʻi Au (poetry) ($100 cash prize)
  • Amanda Allison, Becoming Papa David (short story) (Honorable Mention, $50 cash prize)
  • Shenandoah Greco, Pele Hawaiʻi (poetry) (Honorable Mention, $50 cash prize)
  • Victor Kila, Makaʻala ʻO Nānākuli (poetry) (Honorable Mention, $50 cash prize)
  • Erin Scheldt, The Demise of the Hawaiian Language (academic essay) (Honorable Mention, $50 cash prize)


  • Sheila Arasato, Who Are You? (video) ($100 Amazon.com gift card)
  • Kea Kekoa, We Are From Hawaiʻi (video) ($100 Amazon.com gift card)
  • Iolakana Paguirigan, Ka Huaka’i (painting) ($100 Amazon.com gift card)
  • Aika Makaula, Mauna Kea (video) (Honorable Mention, $50 cash prize)
  • Neil Chan, Identity Theft (graphic illustration) (Honorable Mention, $50 cash prize)

Kūlia I Ka Nuʻu Judgesʻ Award for Most Outstanding:

  • Sheila Arasato, Who are You? (video) ($100 cash prize)

Mahalo a nui loa to the Worldʻs Best Judges:

  • ʻIokepa Badis, Language Arts – Hawaiian language
  • Dave Manu Bird, Language Arts
  • Eileen Cain, Language Arts
  • Piʻikea Hardy-Kahaleoumi, Counseling, Hālau ʻIke
  • Eiko Kosasa, Social Sciences
  • Kuʻuipo Losch, Arts and Humanities – Hawaiian Studies
  • Auliʻi Silva, Poʻo – Hālau ʻIke
  • Kaleʻa Silva, Education – AAT

Many thanks to the generous donors of Pūpū A ʻO ʻEwaʻs UH Foundation Fund for providing the Kūlia I Ka Nuʻu, writing, and honorable mention prizes. Special thanks to Student Life @ Leeward Community College, led by the amazing Lexer Chou, for sponsoring art and multimedia prizes.

Mahalo a nui to all of you who submitted works this semester. Want to get involved? Pūpū A ʻO ʻEwa accepts submissions year round. And Leeward Community College students, youʻre invited to submit your original work to next yearʻs Ka ʻUmeke Kāʻeo Achievement Awards, deadline May 1, 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *