Angelina Kuaʻana

I’m a haole

A foreigner as they say

But my ‘ohana is Hawaiian in every type of way

I look at my keiki 

and I wonder what will be

Will there be any Hawaiians here left to see?

Too much conflict in my head

Too much pain in my soul

Too much love in my heart

Where should it go?

All the shame that’s not mine

I feel the weight on me

When I look around the devastation I see

Loss of community

Loss of language to speak 

Loss of over 2/3 of kanaka maoli

Stealing the ‘āina away

For their own greed

Too much conflict in my head

Too much pain in my soul

Too much love in my heart

Where should it go?

Too much conflict in my head

Too much pain in my soul

Too much love in my heart

Where should it go?

The same country that helped

My parents succeed 

Is the same country 

Who disregarded everything

They say that they are sorry

No reparations to see

When we speak ʻōlelo

People stop and stare at me

A plan from the start

They were able to succeed

Hawaiian is more than just a commodity

Too much conflict in my head

Too much pain in my soul

Too much love in my heart

Where should it go?

All the shame that’s not mine

I feel the weight on me

When I look around the devastation I see

The devastation I see

Too Much Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *